New Specialty Certified Medical Assistant Study Guides


Specialty Certified Medical Assistant (SCMA) is a private organization that provides additional certification to CMAs in specialty areas ranging from Cardiology to Women's Health and Family Medicine.

They have now released a set of study guides for the following specialties:

  • Cardiology
  • Endocrinology
  • Dermatology
  • Geriatrics
  • Family Medicine
  • OB/GYN
  • Internal Medicine
  • Orthopedic Surgery
  • Pediatrics
  • Oncology
  • Women’s Health
  • Transplantation Surgery
  • Urology

SCMA says that their study guides have been created by physicians, teaching nurses, and other medical professionals. Tiffany Kelley (Ph.D., MSN, MBA, RN) was the primary developer for these study guides which are primarily designed for CMAs wanting additional certification from SCMA.

“When asked to develop study guides for the SCMA exams, I began to think about what the individual would need to independently prepare for the SCMA specialty exam,” said Dr. Kelley. "The study guides were designed to supplement the individual’s medical assistant training.”

The idea behind these additional certifications is to show potential employers that you have the necessary knowledge to work in their area of specialty. “Physicians and provider practices can feel confident that a medical assistant with a SCMA certification credential has the knowledge of the specialty practice area, the skills to execute delegated tasks, and most importantly, the critical thinking skills to be successful in assisting physicians and providers in their practice setting,” said Dr. Kelley.

She went on to say “Using the study guides, individuals can feel confident in their preparation for the certification exam – and also confident in being prepared for a medical assistant position”.

For further information visit the SCMA website at

Related Reading:
Preparing for you CMA exams with Practice Tests